

1.3 The Local Agreed Syllabus Committees and the Agreed Syllabus Conference

The process of reviewing the Local Agreed Syllabus is a complex one, examining needs across the key stages and different knowledge and experience.

The 1996 Education Act requires the Local Authority to convene an Agreed Syllabus Conference every five years to review its Local Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education.

In the 2005 edition we were supported by Lat Blaylock, a consultant from RE Today, who met with the writing teams and the full SACRE on several occasions.

Agreed Syllabus Conference (2025 Revision)

When the Agreed Syllabus Conference met on 25 February 2025 the Local Agreed Syllabus was unanimously agreed for adoption, for use across the Authority from April 2025 for a period of five academic years. Membership of the Agreed Syllabus Conference

Group A

- Mrs L Stammers -Methodist (Barnsley Circuit)
- Imam Abdul Aziz (Barnsley Mosque)
- Deborah Roberts (Humanist Society)
- Mark Reasbeck (Gateway Church)

Group B

- Mrs J Wiles (Leeds Diocese)
- Mrs G Bunn (Leeds Diocese)
- Mrs C Turner (Leeds Diocese)
- Mrs N Platts (Leeds Diocese)

Group C

- Miss J Woollands (NEU)
- Mrs S Lees (Vice Chair) (NEU)
- Mrs R Needham (NEU)
- Mrs J Race (VOICE)

Group D

- Cllr T Shepherd (LA Representative)
- Cllr S Holling (LA Representative)
- Cllr P McCarthy (LA Representative)
- Cllr P Markham (LA Representative)
- Cllr S Tattersall (LA Representative)

Adviser

Mr R Holmes

Acknowledgements

I would like to thank the following for their contributions in this process.

All SACRE members and the practitioners contributed in any way to the revision of this syllabus. Many hours have been expended by individuals and groups in the lengthy process of producing a quality document for use by all teachers of RE in the Barnsley Authority.

For individual contributions I would particularly like to thank Jo Wiles (Chair), Ella Cooper (Clerk to SACRE) Jeannette Stratton, Lindsey Andrews, Katrina Dalton (EYFS Section) and Mark Wells (Buddhist Section).

Roger Holmes, Chair, ASC