Historic plans relating to Barnsley’s iconic Town Hall have recently undergone vital conservation work. After almost 90 years, the original blueprints were in need of specialist restoration work to ensure that they will survive for future generations to use and enjoy.
The fascinating blueprints dating back to 1931/2 are the original technical drawings of the Town Hall - then referred to as Barnsley Municipal Buildings. The blueprints include north, east, south and west elevations of the building, as well as detailed drawings of the stunning main entrance and staircase.
The spectacular building, which is a gem in the town centre, was finally opened the by Edward, Prince of Wales on 14 December 1933 after over a year of construction.
Trained conservators worked hard to repair, flatten and clean the paper in order to preserve them. They also ensured that the blueprints were encapsulated in special protective sleeves, within hard-backed folders, to ensure that they can be safely used by researchers in the future.
The detailed documents can be viewed in Barnsley Archives and Local Studies’ Discovery Centre, based alongside the Experience Barnsley Museum in the Town Hall.
Paul Stebbing Archives and Local Studies Officer – Arts and Heritage said: “Our archives are a real treasure trove of delights for people with an interest in the history of our borough and its people. The blueprints are just one example of some of the fascinating documents we have in our collections. They give a real understanding of one of the town’s most impressive buildings, its construction, detail and layout.”
For more information about Barnsley Archives and Local Studies’ Discovery Centre visit www.experience-barnsley.com