Youth Council

Who we are

Barnsley youth councillors represent the young people within their schools. They campaign on the issues that matter to young people the most. They also run drop-in sessions where you can raise issues and find out more.

The youth councillors are elected every two years in February. Anyone aged 13 and above can stand for election in their school or college. All young people aged 11 to 19 can vote in the election and get involved in campaigns or attend drop-ins.

At the moment, the youth councillors are:

  • Kaitlyn Walker - Barnsley Young Mayor
  • George Bann - Barnsley Deputy Young Mayor
  • Mustafa Kamran - Chair
  • Ying Guo - Secretary
  • Morgan Stear - Member of Youth Parliament
  • Abbie Thomas - Member of Youth Parliament
  • Thomas Beech - Member of Youth Parliament
  • Safaa Shreef - National Steering Group Representative, SMYCA Youth Combined Authority Representative, RYCA Representative
  • Isaac Hall - Regional Steering Group Representative
  • Daniel James - SMYCA Youth Combined Authority Representative, SEND Regional Steering Group Representative, SYP Youth IAG Representative

Where to find us

Please ask a member of staff about getting involved in drop-ins. You can contact us online or through our social media pages.