Safeguarding

Training programme

We offer an extensive range of training courses to people who have a responsibility for safeguarding children. 

Places can be booked and cancelled online via the POD.

July 2024

Course Date and time Delivery platform 
Graded Care Profile 2 Friday 12 July
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Lite bites online seminar: building stronger relationships.
Delivered by Aimee Glarvey.
Monday 15 July
3pm to 4.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Attending case conferences in Barnsley Tuesday 16 July
10am to 11am
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Online Seminar Domestic Abuse, Risk Assessment and MARAC Friday 19 July
10am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams

August 2024

Course Date and time Delivery platform 
Local Safeguarding Designated Officer Briefing Sessions Wednesday 7 August
10am to 10.30am
Microsoft Teams
Self-neglect and hoarding workshop
Delivered by Jon Douglass
Thursday 29 August
12pm to 1.30pm
Microsoft Teams

September 2024

Course Date and time Delivery platform 
Attending case conferences in Barnsley Tuesday 3 September
2pm to 3pm
Microsoft Teams
The Importance of the Voice of the Child Wednesday 4 September 10.30am to 12pm Microsoft Teams
Understanding and Responding to Intra-familial Child Sexual Abuse Wednesday 4 September 10am to 12.30pm Zoom - please book with BSARCS to attend
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Neglect Thursday 5 September
10.30am to 12pm 
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: Understanding child attachment
Delivered by Ellis Mosley, NHS
Thursday 5 September
10.30am to 12pm
Barnsley Town Hall
Graded Care Profile 2 – Half Day Seminar Friday 6 September
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Local Safeguarding Designated Officer Briefing Sessions Monday 9 September
2pm to 2.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Building stronger relationships workshop.
Delivered by Aimee Glarvey.
Tuesday 10 September
9.30am to 4pm
Wombwell Family Hub, Barnsley Road, Wombwell, S73 8HT
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Neglect Thursday 12 September 10.30am to 12pm Microsoft Teams
Educational neglect Friday 13 September
11am to 12pm
1pm to 2pm
2.30pm to 3.30pm
Room 14, Barnsley Town Hall
Educational neglect Monday 16 September
11am to 12pm
1pm to 2pm
2.30pm to 3.30pm
Room 14, Barnsley Town Hall
Strengthening and Re-energising Core Groups Tuesday 17 September 1.30pm to 4pm Room 14, Barnsley Town Hall
Designated Safeguarding Lead Training Thursday 19 September 9am to 3pm Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Professional Curiosity Friday 20 September 10.30am to 12pm Microsoft Teams
Educational neglect Friday 20 September
11am to 12pm
1pm to 2pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: The Effects of Trauma on the Child. Delivered by Lynne Ryan Friday 20 September
10.30am to 12pm 
Zoom 
Understanding the Work of our Integrated Front Door.  Tuesday 24 September
4pm to 5pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Online Seminar Domestic Abuse, Risk Assessment and MARAC Thursday 26 September
10am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams

October 2024

Course Date and time Delivery platform 
Educational neglect Friday 1 October
2pm to 3pm
Microsoft Teams
Children and Young People Who Have Displayed Harmful Sexual Behaviour. An Introduction. Delivered by Spencer Bailey Wednesday 2 October
10.30am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams.
Introduction to Working Together to Safeguard Children and Young People Friday 4 October
9.30am to 3.30pm 
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Lite Bites Seminar: Safeguarding in the First Year of Life Wednesday 9 October
10.30am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Dealing with disclosures.
Delivered by BSARCS. Book with BSARCS to attend.
Monday 14 October Zoom
Lite Bites Seminar: Criminal Exploitation of Children Wednesday 16 October
1.30pm to 3pm
Microsoft Teams
Basic Awareness of Safeguarding Children
Delivered by Karen Harrison
Thursday 17 October
10am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: Hidden Men Tuesday 19 November 10.30am to 12pm Microsoft Teams
Mental health before and after the baby Tuesday 22 October
10am to 12.30pm
Barnsley Town Hall
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Sexual Exploitation Friday 25 October
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams

November 2024

Course Date and time Delivery platform 
Lite Bites Seminar: Bullying and Links to Trauma.  Delivered by Jane Laing Tuesday 5 November
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams 
Lite Bites Seminar: Contextual Safeguarding Friday 8 November
10.30am to 12pm 
Microsoft Teams
Working with sexual harm, spot the signs, ask the question and respond with confidence.
Delivered by BSARCS. Book with BSARCS to attend.
Wednesday 13 November BSARCS training room, Barnsley
Lite Bite Seminar - Child Neglect Wednesday 13 November Microsoft Teams
Graded Care Profile 2 – Half Day Seminar Thursday 14 November
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Understanding Neglect and the Impact on Children and Young People Wednesday 20 November 2024 Reception Room, Barnsley Town Hall
Designated Safeguarding Lead Training Friday 21 November 9am to 3pm Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Forced Marriage, Female Genital Mutilation and Honour Based Abuse Thursday 21 November
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
The Impact of Domestic Abuse on Children and Adults Masterclass. Saturday 22 November 9.30am to 3pm The Griffin Suite, Shaw Lane Sports Club
Educational neglect Friday 25 November
11am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Youth Mental Health First Aid (2 day course) Tuesday 26 November and Wednesday 27 November
10am to 5pm
Room 2, Barnsley Town Hall

December 2024

Course Date and time Delivery platform 
Self-neglect and hoarding workshop
Delivered by Jon Douglass
Tuesday 3 December
12pm to 1.30pm
Microsoft Teams 
Attending case conferences in Barnsley Friday 6 December
9am to 10am
Microsoft Teams
Educational neglect Friday 6 December
12pm to 1pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Neglect Friday 6 December
10.30am to 12pm 
Microsoft Teams
Children and Young People Who Have Displayed Harmful Sexual Behaviour. An introduction

Tuesday 10 December
10.30am to 12.30pm

Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: Working with Resistant Families Wednesday 11 December 10.30am to 12pm Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: Safeguarding in the First Year of Life Wednesday 11 December 10.30am to 12pm Microsoft Teams
Introduction to Working Together to Safeguard Children and Young People Thursday 12 December
9.30am to 3.30pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Mental health before and after the baby

Thursday 12 December
10am to 12.30pm

Barnsley Town Hall
The Importance of the Voice of the Child Friday 13 December 10.30am to 12pm Microsoft Teams

January 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Professional Curiosity Friday 10 January 
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams 
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Criminal Exploitation Thursday 16 January
1.30pm to 3pm
Microsoft Teams
Graded Care Profile 2 Thursday 30 January
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Designated Safeguarding Lead Training

Friday 31 January
9am to 3pm

Barnsley Town Hall

February 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Children and young people who have displayed harmful sexual behaviour - an introduction Tuesday 4 February
10.30am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Sexual Exploitation Wednesday 5 February
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bite Seminar - Child neglect Wednesday 12 February
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Sexual abuse within the family masterclass.  Presented by Zoe Lodrick

Friday 14 February 
9.30am to 3pm
9am registration

Shaw Lane Sports Club, Shaw Lane, Barnsley, S70 6HZ
Contextual Safeguarding Training Thursday 27 February
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Working Together To Safeguard Children and Young People Friday 28 February
9.30am to 3.30pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall

March 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Designated Safeguarding Lead Training Thursday 6 March
9am to 3pm
Barnsley Town Hall
Safeguarding Children in The First Year of Life Wednesday 12 March
10.30am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Graded Care Profile 2 Friday 14 March
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Basic Awareness of Safeguarding Children Thursday 20 March
10am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams
The Importance of the Voice of the Child Wednesday 26 March
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams

April 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Attending case conferences in Barnsley Friday 25 April
10am to 11am
Microsoft Teams

May 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Criminal Exploitation Thursday 8 May
1.30pm to 3pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bite Seminar - Child neglect Thursday 22 May
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams

June 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Sexual Exploitation Thursday 5 June
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Contextual Safeguarding Training Friday 6 June
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Safeguarding Children in The First Year of Life Wednesday 11 June
10.30am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Professional Curiosity Thursday 12 June
10.30am to 12pm 
Microsoft Teams 
Designated Safeguarding Lead Training Friday 13 June
9am to 3pm
Barnsley Town Hall

July 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Attending case conferences in Barnsley Tuesday 1 July
2pm to 3pm
Microsoft Teams
The Importance of the Voice of the Child Thursday 3 July 
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams 
Working Together To Safeguard Children and Young People Friday 4 July
9.30am to 3.30pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Graded Care Profile 2 Friday 11 July
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Basic Awareness of Safeguarding Children Tuesday 15 July
10am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams

September 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Safeguarding Children in The First Year of Life Friday 12 September
10.30am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams
Lite Bite Seminar - Child neglect Tuesday 16 September
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Designated Safeguarding Lead Training Thursday 18 September
9am to 3pm
Barnsley Town Hall
Graded Care Profile 2 Friday 19 September
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Criminal Exploitation Tuesday 30 September
1.30pm to 3pm
Microsoft Teams

October 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Working Together To Safeguard Children and Young People Thursday 2 October
9.30am to 3.30pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Professional Curiosity Thursday 16 October
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams 
Contextual Safeguarding Training Wednesday 22 October
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams

November 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
Attending case conferences in Barnsley Wednesday 12 November
10am to 11am
Microsoft Teams
Designated Safeguarding Lead Training Friday 14 November
9am to 3pm
Barnsley Town Hall
Graded Care Profile 2 Friday 21 November
9.30am to 1pm
Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Basic Awareness of Safeguarding Children Friday 28 November
10am to 12.30pm
Microsoft Teams

December 2025

Course Date and time Delivery platform
The Importance of the Voice of the Child Tuesday 2 December 10.30am to 12pm 
Lite Bite Seminar - Child neglect Thursday 4 December
10.30am to 12pm
Microsoft Teams
Working Together To Safeguard Children and Young People

Friday 5 December,
9.30am to 3.30pm

Room 11, Barnsley Town Hall
Safeguarding Children in The First Year of Life

Monday 8 December
10.30am to 12.30pm

Microsoft Teams
Lite Bites Seminar: Child Sexual Exploitation

Friday 12 December
10.30am to 12pm

Microsoft Teams