Barnsley Markets

Open for business

Barnsley market opened on 2 November following an extensive refurbishment programme. There are now over 100 stalls located across two floors in the market.  

The indoor market offers a modern shopping environment with wide aisles, lifts and escalators, public toilets, seating areas and free Wi-Fi.

You can take a look at our market map to find all your old favourites and new traders. 

Shop online and save time with our click and collect service.  

A new town centre

Did you know there’s a £178 million transformation underway in Barnsley?

A big part of the plans is to make the town the go-to destination for shoppers and leisure seekers. Top of their list will be The Glass Works, a new retail and leisure destination. The new market will sit at the heart of the redevelopment.

More about the Glass Works

Opening hours

Indoor market - 8.30am to 5pm Monday to Saturday

Outdoor market - from 8am to 4.30pm (7am to 2pm car boot on Sunday), no market on Thursday

Christmas Opening

Indoor market:
Sunday 23 December - 10am to 4pm
Monday 24 December - 8.30am to 4pm
Tuesday 25 December - Closed
Wednesday 26 December - Closed
Thursday 27 December - 8.30am to 5pm
Friday 28 December - 8.30am to 5pm
Saturday 29 December - 8.30am to 5pm
Sunday 30 December - Closed
Monday 31 December - 8.30am to 4pm
Tuesday 1 January - Closed

Outdoor market:
Closed 25 and 26 December and 1 January 
Extra markets on Thursday 6, 13 and 20 December and Sunday 23 December

Become a trader

Market trading is a great way to launch a new business or expand your existing one. Our staff can help you with ideas and get you set up in the market that's right for you.

More about becoming a trader

Group visits

Why not bring a group to explore our fantastic new market! Book ahead for an experience tailored to your needs.

More about group visits